Gilbert Portanier

Capture d’écran 2020-07-02 à 11.58.53.

Gilbert Portanier went to secondary school on the French Riviera . Around the age of 17, he felt a taste for the arts born in him. In 1945 , he left for Paris to study architecture at ENSBA . He quickly turned to painting and drawing which he would soon study as an autodidact.

In 1948 , after a stay in Brussels, he returned to the Côte d'Azur where, during a visit to Vallauris, he discovered the world of ceramics and met Picasso . In 1949 , he created, with his friends Albert Diato and Francine Del Pierre , a small workshop, which they called “Le Triptyque”, where they began together to learn ceramics on their own.

In 1954 , he moved into a traditional pottery where he had large workshops, found a mythical place of ceramics where all the possibilities of a still virgin art were available to him. He learns the multiple techniques associated with it and creates his own figurative, abstract, suggestive language, materialized by a versatile graphic design of great freedom. Its color palette betrays the painter's sensitivity through its richness and intensity. For Portanier, ceramics are a way of translating feelings, emotions, and the pleasures of life. He is a colourist and a connoisseur of enamel, just like a drawing virtuoso.

In 2018, creation of the Gilbert Portanier Foundation located at 8 Chemin des Potiers in Vallauris.

TEASER GILBERT PORTANIER

TEASER GILBERT PORTANIER

Play Video
Discover the artist

Gilbert Portanier

Gilbert Portanier fait des études secondaires sur la côte d’Azur. Vers l'âge de 17 ans, il sent naître en lui le goût des arts. En 1945, il part pour Paris étudier l’architecture à l’ENSBA. Il se tourne rapidement vers la peinture et le dessin qu’il étudiera bientôt en autodidacte.

En 1948, après un séjour à Bruxelles, il retourne vers la côte d’Azur où, lors d’une visite à Vallauris, il découvre l’univers de la céramique et rencontre Picasso. En 1949, il crée, avec ses amis Albert Diato et Francine Del Pierre, un petit atelier, qu’ils appellent « Le Triptyque », où ils commencent ensemble l’apprentissage autodidacte de la céramique.

En 1954, il s’installe dans une poterie traditionnelle où il va disposer de vastes ateliers, trouve un lieu mythique de la céramique où toutes les possibilités d’un art encore vierge s’offrent à lui. Il apprend les multiples techniques qui s’y rattachent et crée son propre langage figuratif, abstrait, suggestif, matérialisé par un graphisme polyvalent d’une grande liberté. Sa palette de couleurs trahit par sa richesse et par son intensité la sensibilité du peintre. Pour Portanier, la céramique est une façon de traduire les sentiments, les émotions, les plaisirs de la vie. C’est un coloriste et un connaisseur de l’émail, tout comme un virtuose du dessin.

En 2018, création de la Fondation Gilbert Portanier situé 8 Chemin des Potiers à Vallauris.

© 2020 


 

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean